Watch Out Now

Happy Tuesday evening! Why is it not Friday yet? It just goes to show how hectic this week has been.

I had to work late at the office tonight, so I came home in the early afternoon to take out Mochi. He was more than happy to go sniffing around.

The trees on my street are kind of interesting: the trees on my side are yellow, those in the median are green, and those on the other side are all red. It’s like a mixed up traffic light.

I didn’t get the chance to blog last night, but I baked a spaghetti squash and two pumpkin chocolate chip loaves. I love the smell of a home when yummy things are baking in the oven.

So, I’ve been going to BodyPump for a couple of months now, and I’ve noticed something that kind of bothers me. My form and weight choices are not always absolutely correct by any means, but I’m really surprised that some people haven’t thrown out their backs (especially men)! Most days, there’s usually just one guy who loads on too much weight and then loses steam within 30 seconds because he can’t keep up through the whole track (each body group is ‘choreographed’ to a song track lasting from 4-6 minutes).

Yesterday, however, there were two particular gentlemen and one mid-20 something gal I kept catching myself watching in the mirror.

Guy 1: He tried to do every track with 40-80 lbs of weight. For obvious reasons, he would only get in 1 or 2 reps and then just stand there for the rest of the track, but he refused to reduce the weight. Sometimes, he would add more and then just stand there.

Guy 2: He modified with free weights, which is fine, but he would do as many as he could do as fast as he could and then just stand there or sit down. If you have never done body pump, you lift with varying speeds at different intervals (1 count up, 3 counts down, etc).

Chick: I only noticed her during squats because her knees were going so far past her feet that she kept nearly falling over, she was also doing them plie style.

This could possibly mean that I’m not working out hard enough in class (my body tells me otherwise), but I don’t know what my deal is. Most days I barely notice, but these folks were over the top. I guess moral of the story is this: if you’re a man, don’t be ashamed to go with lower weights and watch those around you for guidance if you can’t see the instructor clearly. Doing one body group nonstop for 4-6 minutes takes some getting used to, and nobody will judge you if your bar is looking a little skimpy for the first few classes. We all gotta start somewhere.

End vent. I hope that you have a great evening! There’s a frost warning in Denver, so I’ll be cozying up with a book before I head to bed. Night!

Question: Are there any gym habits that drive you up the wall even if you shouldn’t care?

4 thoughts on “Watch Out Now

Share Your Thoughts

