Slow Songs for Long Runs

Happy Sunday :) I can’t believe this weekend has already come to an end. Time flies when you’re having fun, right?

I happily slept in until almost noon today after going out again for Halloweekend festivities. I kept myself together better than I did the night before, so that’s always good news. Being that I missed working out yesterday and knowing that Sundays are put aside for my longer runs, I made sure to keep the drinking at a minimum (and thankfully succeeded).

Before my run, I had a bagel thin with peanut butter and a banana as well as a serving of the Vega Sport Performance Optimizer to get some extra zip in my bloodstream. No smiley face today.

running fuel

I went out intending to do just 4 or 5 miles, but I ended up covering 6.44 miles! I had a really bad long run last Sunday, and I think a good part of that was due to me trying to run faster than I knew I should. Instead of focusing on enjoying my run, I ended up in a lot of agony both mentally and physically.

Not today! I kept my pace nice and slow to ensure I properly warmed up and made sure to enjoy the views along the way. I didn’t have a route pre-planned, so I decided to do a bit of a community running tour. My neighborhood is a mixed-income community, so there are homes from the low ranges all the way up to the multi-millions. I definitely don’t live in one of the hot shot houses (or a house in general), but I thought it’d be fun to see them all today. Maybe someday, eh?

Baller Avenue

I think one of the biggest reasons I felt so good today was my choice in music. I have the newb tendency to start off too fast and end up pooped. Because of such, listening to house mash-ups and club mixes doesn’t really help since I want to jam out and run fast.

The running gods must have gotten the hint because the first several songs that played during my run were much slower. Listening to the likes of Adele and The Script made me slow down and ease in to the run.

pond

Despite stopping to take pictures and stretch out some muscle tightness, I still finished my run about 10 minutes faster than I did last week. I’ll call that a win for sure. After the results from today, I’ll definitely be revamping my playlist to include more slow songs that I can cruise along to.

Air Force Museum

Air Force Museum

Once I got back, I didn’t have much of an appetite, so I blended up a power protein smoothie to enjoy during my not-so-enjoyable ice bath. Although the run felt great, my left hip felt a little irritated after, and I wanted to make sure I took care of it before it became a problem.

smoothie

Bendy straws make everything more fun, don't they?

I just picked up some new books from the Tattered Cover, an awesome local book store, but I won’t be able to dive into those until tomorrow. I managed to make plans for tonight instead of going to bed early, which is probably a dumb move, so no time for reading.

Anyway, I’m about to sit down to a yummy dinner of Target rotisserie chicken, Green Giant veggie/potato blend, and some Near East whole grains and then get myself together for tonight. Oh, and yes, I ate the skin :P

I hope that you have an enjoyable evening!

Question: What are some of your favorite songs to run to (especially slower songs)? I can always use a playlist update :)

9 thoughts on “Slow Songs for Long Runs

  1. That is such a great idea to include slow songs while you run! I never thought of that. I always try to listen to upbeat songs, but I will definitely try slow songs next time to test it out. I love country songs, so I might listen to that next time. :)

  2. Pingback: Halloween Rest Day « Fit on the Rocks

  3. Pingback: Sunday Run Day « Fit on the Rocks

  4. It surely feels great to start running to slower songs. After reading your blog, I’ve started using slower music to change my motivation (and mood) for long weekend runs. Keep on the good work on the site. This support comes from Malaysia! Will one day run marathons inthe US.
    Cheers from the equator!

Share Your Thoughts

