Sunday Run Day

Hey all! Where did this weekend go?

In the spirit of typical Sunday “Fun Days”, I’m going to do a weekly Sunday Run Day post in honor of my long runs. Although my mileage isn’t as high as experienced runners out there and my pace is quite slow, it’s a day of the week I look forward to. I always feel accomplished after a long run and am challenged mentally and physically. But first, let’s start with last night’s dinner and activities :)

Regional Rally Dinner + Clubbing

My chapter of my sorority hosted the annual rally for the region, so I decided to join in for post-rally eats and fun. The event was held at The Lobby, which is a restaurant near the Ball Park District of downtown. Thao from Snapshots of Happiness is actually one of my line sisters, and I got to sit next to her for dinner :)

Thao and I

Dinner was served buffet style and started out with an assortment of appetizers, which included calamari, french fries, mussels, and seasoned edamame. This, in my opinion, was the best-tasting portion of our dinner.

apps

The main courses were split into two different stations. Station 1 had beef tenderloin, roasted red potatoes, Caesar salad, and green beans. Station 2 had pesto chicken, mixed greens salad, roasted veggies, and some sort of pasta. Overall, the meal was okay, but nothing all that great. At least the company and atmosphere were lively.

my plate

Dessert was my favorite Berry Chantilly Cake from Whole Foods…yummmm. I’ve never gotten their sheet cakes before, and it’s definitely not as good because the fruit is more sparse and the frosting is in plenty. As mentioned, I’m not a fan of frosting.

Berry Chantilly Cake

After dinner, we headed out to Beta Nightclub because some of the girls aren’t 21. They play mostly house music, so it’s not for everyone. I actually enjoy listening to it, but we had such a good time with each other that nobody seemed to mind too much. We went with the intention of not really drinking, but Maly’s brother was able to get us free bottle service, so that obviously didn’t work out. It’s okay though, part of the mission of my blog is to live a healthy life that also includes cocktails ;) I’m sure this is debatable to some.

Sunday Run Day

Today I finished up just over 8 miles! It’s my longest distance yet, and it felt easier than the 3+ mile I did earlier in the week. Maybe it’s because I added some great slower songs today (snippet of playlist below). I pre-mapped a tentative route to ensure I got the distance and then adjusted during my run to fit better with my mileage and in case I experienced any pains.

 

Before I went out for the morning, I ate some cereal instead of my usual long run fuel because I didn’t have any bananas, and I don’t like peanut butter enough to eat it without the bananas (almond butter all the way). I had Special K Red Berry with almond milk. I use a ton of milk because I like my cereal soggy…don’t judge!

During the run, I rolled my ankle after stepping on a rock that looked like a leaf. That was not bueno, so I walked it out for a few minutes before running again and had no problems. Around mile 5 I consumed a Chocolate Cherry Clif Shot Turbo. Note to self: don’t buy chocolate ones because if I get some on my face, it looks like I wiped poo on myself not that I did this. Including my extended walk break from the rolled ankle, I averaged 12 minute miles, which is right on track with what my schedule dictates for long runs.

I noticed that I’m starting to get a running short tan line. I don’t know if I should be proud that I’m running enough to get one or be sad that I have a worse farmers tan than I do during the summer when I hadn’t started running yet.

Shaved down, clingy Mochi while I was stretching lol

After stretching, I took an ice bath to reduce any pain I might feel tomorrow, especially for the rolled ankle. The first minute sucks badly, so I recharged with a Carrot Cake Lara Bar (my fave!) and half a bottle of Blue Moon.

Afterwards, I got my crock pot Salsa Chicken together (recipe tomorrow) and made myself a cheesy spinach egg-white puff because I was STARVING at this point. It’s super easy, use half a cup of carton egg whites + spinach + Laughing Cow Light Swiss and nuke in the microwave in 30-45 second increments, stirring until it’s cooked and puffy.

Current Play List

  • Sara Evans- A Little Bit Stronger
  • T-Pain- 5 ‘o Clock
  • Neon Trees- Animal
  • The Script- Nothing
  • DJ Tiesto- C’Mon
  • Britney Spears- Criminal
  • Lloyd- Dedication to My Ex (Miss That)
  • Glee Cast- Make It Right
  • Pitbull- International Love
  • Alexandra Stan- Mr. Saxobeat
  • David Guetta- The Alphabet
  • Katy Perry- The One That Got Away
  • Glee Cast- Defying Gravity
  • Selena Gomez- Who Says
  • LMFAO- Sexy and I Know It
  • Foster the People- Pumped Up Kicks
Be Thankful Challenge
I was in such a rush yesterday that I totally forgot to add my daily thanks, so I’ll just list two for today. Today I’m thankful for being physically able to exercise and for daylight savings time. There are a lot of people out there who can’t get up and do whatever they want due to physical limitations. Also, today felt extra nice and enjoyable due to the additional hour ;)
Have a great night!

14 thoughts on “Sunday Run Day

  1. I love so many of the songs on your playlist…and I love almond butter way more than peanut butter too. But I agree with you on the frosting thing, I think it’s so gross and I don’t understand the people who love it!

  2. It’s awesome how you and thao are friends. :)

    Congrats on your 8 miles run girl! That is amazing. I would love to be able to run that far one day.

  3. I’m going to be stealing some of those songs from your playlist. I always find that when I listen to really fast upbeat songs, I end up running too fast and get tired a lot earlier than with slower mellower songs.
    Blue Moons are the best way to hydrate after a long run. My fav beer!

  4. Pingback: Long Run Sundays: Surfs Up « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

