Fruit for the Lazy

Happy Thursday Tuesday everyone! Since tomorrow is my last day of work for the week, I feel like it’s already Thursday.

I was feeling super lazy yesterday, and because it was my off day, I ended up just bumming out with Quynh after picking up some very random food from Target. Our dinner consisted of the following bits of things: steak and veggie kabob (yes, just one), hard boiled eggs, cocktail shrimp, steamed broccoli, rotisserie chicken, Near East Wild Mushroom and Herb couscous, Fresh Express Pear Gorgonzola Salad w/goat cheese (more on this), and chocolate pudding.

dinner

The items pictured were my original plan for dinner. Then, I got to Quynh’s house and was greeted with the random mix of other things, and it was fabulous. I swear my tummy thinks I’m going to starve to death if I don’t eat for an army.

Now, back to the salad. Oh my YUM!!! I never buy salad kits from the store because it’s usually loaded with junk I don’t care to eat, but this one sounded too good.

source

The pear gorgonzola vinaigrette was fantastic! Add some nuts and dried pears, and we have ourselves a winner. I could have used some avocado in addition to the goat cheese, but I’ll save that for next time.

I’m Too Lazy For Many Fruits

I was chatting with Thao earlier and telling her how I was already hungry at 10am. I mentioned that I have an apple sitting on my desk from our weekly office fruit delivery that I could eat, but then I said I was too lazy to eat it because I didn’t have my nifty apple slicing device at work with me.

source

The thing is, I’m really lazy when it comes to fruits and vegetables. Unless I’m cooking, it’s hard for me to make myself take the time to peel, slice, clean my fruits and veggies for snacking purposes, so things tend to go to waste. I prefer eating them when they’re presented to me like so…

source

Therefore, I usually stick to frozen fruits and veggies, or I have to force myself to wash, peel, and/or cut everything as soon as I get home from the grocery store so that I can pack them away before I get lazy, and they go bad.

It drives my mother up the wall when I tell her that I don’t want any fruit, but I promptly eat the whole plate as soon as she gets to cutting some up. She should know by now :P I don’t know what it is because I have no problem with getting myself to get through bananas, grapes, berries, and those types of fruits, but apples, oranges, watermelon, pears, and other “more difficult to eat” fruits turn me into a lazy non-eater.

Alright, now you know one more useless fact about me lol.

Running

I have to tutor tonight, but I’ll be heading to my apartment gym to tackle my first run on my training calendar. Thank goodness it’s an easy 3 mile run because I’m going to be exhausted by the time I get home.

Be Thankful Challenge

Today, I’m thankful for ponytails. They keep you looking somewhat fresh when you woke up way too late to take a shower. Not that I did that…:roll:

Question of the Day: What is your weirdest food habit? Please tell me I’m not the only one who gets lazy with fruit.

3 thoughts on “Fruit for the Lazy

  1. Hahahhaha I love that you’re ‘lazy’ with fruit..because I completely understand! I always buy tons of produce but sometimes the thought of chopping, cutting, peeling, washing, etc just sounds too difficult, ha. If I see a giant plate of pre-cut fruit..ummm YES I could eat the whole thing :)

    PS You should try buying fruits and veggies pre-cut in the produce aisle!

  2. Pingback: Holiday Food is Trying to Kill Me « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

