Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hey, Everyone! I hope that your Monday is off to a better start than mine. My work laptop totally flashed the blue screen of death, so I spent all morning waiting to have a brand new one sent over. On the plus side, now I have a brand new, out-of-the-box laptop woohoo!

I was lucky enough to participate in the first ever Food Blogger Cookie Swap this year, and I want to give a HUGE shoutout to the girls over at Love & Olive Oil for organizing the hundreds of bloggers who participated! It was seriously awesome to send out some goodies, and get a few dozen in return.

I would first like to take the time to give a huge thanks to the 3 fabulous bloggers who sent me cookies. Receiving each of these packages really made my day, and all of them were very good. Thank you so much!

Package #1 came from Alexis @Lex’s Life as a New Wife.

She sent me a batch of her favorite Chocolate Chewy Cookies, and they were soooo good! I don’t normally like chocolate flavored cookies, but clearly I liked these because I ate half of them before even remember to take a picture :P

Package #2 came from Carol @ Lucky Zucca.

She made really cute frosted sugar cookies that were fun to look at and eat :) Shown next to my only Christmas decoration lol.

Last, and certainly not least, my final package came from Chelcie @ Chelcie’s Food Files.

She made an amazing batch of All-In-One cookies that satisfied every possible cookie craving in one little lump of goodness.

Thanks again, ladies! I really enjoyed each of them :)

Now, this should come as no real surprise, but I’m not what I would call a “food blogger”, but I do love food and cookies. I had a hard time figuring out what to bake because I kind of suck at it, and I would be sending cookies to people who like food, too. No pressure. I’ve been obsessed with pumpkin, so I decided to make pumpkin chocolate chip cookies :)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (from this recipe): Makes about 20

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I added more due to elevation)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon + pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1) Combine pumpkin, sugar, vegetable oil, and egg.

2) In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, ground cinnamon, and salt. Dissolve the baking soda with the milk and stir in. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture and mix well.

3) Add vanilla, chocolate chips and nuts.

4) Drop by spoonful on greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for approximately 10 minutes or until lightly brown and firm.

5) Enjoy! I put my cookies in some cute reindeer tins I found at Hobby Lobby, and off they went :)

I hope that Traci @yellowWishbone, Kate @ Passion for Life, and Missy @Cooking for Two enjoyed them!

15 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Hey! I recognize that green tin in your last picture! That’s the one I got ;) Your cookies were super yummy, which is saying something because I’m not the biggest fan of pumpkin. But… I love me some chocolate chips, so that ensured that I enjoyed them :D

    I love the heart you made in your dry ingredients btw LOL It’s so cute.

    Thanks again for the cookies, and I am so excited to have a new blog to follow! I will definitely be reading/commenting as much as I can :)

    ♥ and harp strings,
    Kate

  2. Yum! I want to join the cookie swap next year – the ones you received and the pumpkin chocochip you made look soooo good! I’m a sucker for a tasty chocochip cookie :)

  3. Pingback: the little kitchen » The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap Recipe Roundup Part 2

Share Your Thoughts

