Holiday Food is Trying to Kill Me

Hey, everyone~ Even though it’s Tuesday, I hope your week is off to a great start :) Today was supposed to be my first day back at work, but my holiday ‘hangover’ decided it wanted to try to kill me instead.

click for source

I didn’t have much to do last night, and I was a bit tired, so I went to bed at 8:30pm. Looks like the old lady in me wants an early debut! Anyway, I woke up at 4:30am and decided to get in my scheduled 3 mile run before work so that I couldn’t push it off.

I ran over to my apartment gym, demolished my 3 miles, and then got off the treadmill to head home. Just at that moment, I was suddenly graced with the awesome presence of nausea and dizziness. I didn’t run harder than normal, so I was really confused and in a state of craptasticness (I’m allowed to make that a real word for this). After a bit of dry-heaving, I made it back home, drank some water, and jumped in the shower. Enter my awesome friends from before :(

I took the fastest shower of my life, dried my hair, and then curled into a ball on my bed. After the puke feeling went away, I drank a glass of chocolate milk, but felt completely drained of life. I didn’t think I would be able to drive to work, so I told my manager I would come in after lunch and passed out for 4 HOURS. WTH? Being the nerd that I am, I Googled exercise-induced nausea and geeked out for an hour reading articles and forums. The best I could come up with was my crappy diet during the extended weekend home.

While I ate quite a bit of healthier Korean food, I also ate a boat load of ice cream and not a lot of veggies. I’m going to blame the holiday food on my near-death experience. Once I finally woke up from the grave, I forced down a bowl of oatmeal and an apple so that I had enough energy to work. (I actually took the time to cut my own apple to eat…haha.)

I saw that my manager messaged me and said I could work from home since I had my stuff, so that made me feel better. Call me dumb, but around lunchtime, I had a second burst of energy and the weather was nice. I decided to head out for an outdoor run and covered 7.2 miles, making my daily total to 10.2. Not bad, eh? I’ve experienced the nausea on two other occasions, both of which were also on the treadmill, but never when I’m running outdoors (minus my crappy 10 mile run after eating fire-hot Thai food).

It’s hard to explain the sensation because I go from feeling great to feeling like death incarnate faster than a Bugatti goes from 0-60. This morning was the worst. The last time it happened, it went away on the short walk to the water fountain. No. Freakin. Clue.

At least now I’m semi caught up with my training schedule and know that my body can no longer handle copious amounts of food like a tank. Aging is a bitch. I’m off to get some stuff re-heated for dinner before Quynh gets here from the gym. More photos of food to come tomorrow.

Oh, on a pleasant note, I just received the cutest save-the-date card from one of the most down-to-earth couples I know. Wedding season is just around the corner!

Question of the Day: Have you ever felt completely nauseous after completing a workout? What did you do that helped?

18 thoughts on “Holiday Food is Trying to Kill Me

  1. You are NOT alone. While training for my half marathon, after a long run, I felt so nauseous and sick that all I could do was lay on the floor and wait for it to pass. I couldn’t manage to eat or drink anything for about two hours. Yikes.

    It DOES get better with time, but my best advice is make sure you eat a protein breakfast before, and if you’re running longer than an hour, TAKE A GATORADE with you. It helps so much with the nausea and sick feeling!

  2. I’m in agreement on the hydrating thing! I think it just might be your body’s way of purging all the holidays out of your system too :) I only say that because I went to the gym tonight for my first real workout since Christmas, and I got kinda nauseous too! I was dehydrated and I think I had just too much sugar in the bloodstream!

  3. I’ve had the same thing happen! Although it only happens to me when I work out later in the day, after I’ve eaten something. No matter how long I wait after eating a meal, there’s always a chance I’ll get uber sick after working out if I have eaten.

  4. Pingback: Running on Auto-Pilot « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

