Happy New Year!

Hey all! I hope that you had a fun-filled New Years Eve :) I’ve been completely MIA for a few days because it’s been a bit busy over here. My workout schedule has been pretty much nonexistent for the past few days, so I’ll stick to my eats and shenanigans from the last day.

New Years Eve

After closing out the quarter at work, I rushed home and tried to get myself ready to head out. I had no clue what I was going to wear, so I was frantically trying on dresses in my closet to find a suitable outfit.

In the end, I decided to just wear the same dress that I wore for my birthday bash with Guess peeptoe pumps and  my favorite suit jacket from Express.

386604_10150420826448483_518038482_8638366_543689100_nshoes_iaec1218275

IMG_20120101_000610

I was happily the eleventh wheel for a group dinner at NoRTH in the Cherry Creek Shopping District. No joke, I was by myself with five couples hahaha. It’s a good thing I get along well with all of the significant others as well :P

They had a set menu for the night, all of which sounded very good. While deciding, we munched on olives and bread with tomato herb butter. Their butter is to die for.

IMG_4424IMG_4429IMG_4431

For my appetizer, I went with the Candy Stripe Beets, which was made with organic greens, lots of beets, warm goat cheese, and a champagne vinaigrette. This salad was very tasty, and I was pleasantly surprised to see such light-colored beets. I’m so used to seeing the deep purple variety.

IMG_4434

For my main course, I went with the pan roasted scallops with black truffle and trumpet mushroom risotto. I LOVE truffles, and they did not skimp on this dish, but it wasn’t an overwhelming amount. They also cooked the scallops perfectly. I had this with their Martini Il Rosa cocktail made with Belvedere vodka, St. Germain Elderflower liqueur (my favorite liqueur since I had it at Linger on my birthday), PAMA liqueur. and lemon sour. Delicious.

IMG_4423IMG_4435

Dinner was completed with a pumpkin bread pudding and espresso. The bread pudding was okay, but nothing compared to the fantastic butterscotch bread pudding at Osteria Marco.

IMG_4441IMG_4442

Afterwards, we ventured out to Red Square Euro Bistro. It’s a restaurant, but it’s better known as being a vodka bar. They’re well-known for their large selection of house-infused, flavored vodkas, including unusual flavors like beet, fig, garlic, dill, and horseradish. The dill and horseradish are also served with sliced pickles, one of which I found in their Christmas tree lol.

IMG_20120101_000819

Although we were downtown, we decided against paying to go to the clubs or larger bars because it gets really crazy. I’m sure there would have been more single men for me to scope out for a countdown kiss at the clubs, but I had a great time and saved a lot of money. Win-Win.

IMG_4444

We ventured to meet up with some more people at Tryst Lounge after the countdown. It was a great way to end 2011.

New Years Day

After we all finally woke up this morning, we met up at Zaidy’s Deli in Cherry Creek for brunch. It’s a cute little Jewish deli that serves up a good selection of breakfast and lunch foods.

I went with the Desayuno Fuerte, which was sauteed spinach, onions, tomatoes and garlic on a potato latke; topped with two poached eggs and parmesan cheese. It was so yummy and just what I wanted when I woke up this morning.

IMG_4446

Served with a  side of wheat toast with butter and homemade strawberry jam.

IMG_4445

I want to write a post with my 2012 goals, but I’m just now finding some time to get to thinking, so I’ll post those up sometime this week. I just got down to my mom’s place in Colorado Springs to pick up my dear Mochi, so it’s time to sit down to a home-cooked meal :)

Question of the Day: What did you end up doing for New Years Eve? Did you eat anything delicious?

20 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. My new year’s eve “meal” was not nearly as decadent as yours, but still yummy! Buffalo Chicken dip and brownies with ice cream. We had it right after the countdown to midnight, so good thing my first meal of 2012 was very healthy ;-)

  2. Happy New Years Lena!! :)

    Your last meal for 2011 sounds fantastic! It sounds like you had a wonderful new years eve with your friends.

  3. dinner was at city o city. I loved it but Glenn did NOT like the hipster and vegan environment. It’s hipster central. Glad you had a fancy night with fancy clothes…my hubs got drunk at red square. He doesn’t wanna see that place again!

    • LOL that is definitely the hipster hangout, but the food is pretty good. The first time I went there, I didn’t know it was veg/vegan and requested chicken on my salad. They promptly stared at me like I was the most ignorant being to grace their hipster scene.

  4. horseradish vodka?! that’s crazy! The beet and goat cheese salad sounds amazing! I don’t blame you about avoiding the clubs..I went to a club party and it wasn’t really worth the money..even though it was open bar so it was a total waste haha

  5. Omgshhh one of your friends looks JUST like a friend of mine! I thought to myself, “what’s christine doing there??!” :P So crazy. And you look sooo purrrty in that purty dress~and you have a great attitude, especially being the 11th wheel and all.

  6. Pingback: Just Workin on My Fitness « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

