Save the Tomatoes + Zipfizz Review

I hope you’re feeling better today than my legs and feet are! After walking around in 4” heels all night on Friday and Saturday, running 18 miles in 3 days, and a lunge-crazy session of BodyPump last night, the balls of my feet are telling me it’s time for a day of glorious rest.

Oh yeah, my calves were crying for mercy, too. Wearing Zensah sleeves under your jeans to make normally large calves look even bigger is going to be the new trend of 2012 my friends.

IMG_4454

Instead of working out, I’m going to try the P90X Stretching video. It sounds innocent enough, so I hope it doesn’t turn into a surprise workout.

Anywho, I alluded to something tasty cooking in the kitchen in yesterday’s post, so I guess I shouldn’t further delay. It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with the Metropolis Salad from the Green Fine Salad Co in downtown Denver. The real thing that I’m in love with, though, are the roasted tomatoes in the salad.

Well, I bought some grape tomatoes last week and completely forgot about them because I tossed a bag on top of them…typical me. Needless to say, they were wrinkly beyond throwing in a salad, but not bad enough to throw away.

IMG_20120102_191905

Enter homemade roasted tomatoes. Brilliant, I know ;) I cut them in half, spread them on a lined cookie sheet, seasoned them with garlic powder, black pepper and a hint of sea salt, and then spritzed with olive oil.

IMG_20120102_192658

After spending a couple of hours in the oven at 240*, they were perfectly chewy, moist, and jam-packed full of flavor. (There is no correct amount of time to stick them in. Just cook them until they reach the desired level of roastedness, checking occasionally so you don’t burn down your house.)

IMG_20120102_221212

They were the perfect addition to my spinach salad today, and saved me from having to toss an untouched package of tomatoes. Being cheap can pay off sometimes!

IMG_4450

Paired with lots of goat cheese and Annie’s Lite Gingerly dressing. Delish.

IMG_4451

Zipfizz Review

[Please note that while I was provided with free samples of the product, all opinions are my own.]

Last month, Ashley from Zipfizz was nice enough to send me a sample of each of their flavors along with a cute water bottle. I’m always looking for new ways to stay energized, especially before a tough workout, so I eagerly accepted.

IMG_4300

On a basic level, Zipfizz is a healthier alternative to other energy drinks on the market. According to their materials,

image

“Zipfizz’s Healthy Energy Mix is an all-natural powder, that transforms water into an energizing performance drink. each serving delivers a powerful charge of 25 nutrients comprised of vitamins, minerals, key amino acids, electrolytes and antioxidants to the body’s fuel system.”

 

This sounded good to me, but what I really liked about it was the fact that it has only 10 calories, 2-3 carbs, no sugar, and a ton of electrolytes. They have flavors for people of all tastes, too, including pink lemonade, grape, orange soda, citrus, berry, and orange creamsicle (limited flavor). Plus, they were really easy to use, thanks to the spiffy vials they come in.

Overall, I really enjoyed using them and liked the taste (loved the creamsicle!). My roommate said that she could taste the infusion of vitamins and stuff, so I suppose it depends on your taste buds. I find most things relatively palatable, so I didn’t experience that. I did not, however, like using them before a run. I don’t train with caffeine prior to running (just caffeinated GU gels during), so it made me feel like my heart was racing a little faster than normal. They were perfect before BodyPump and TRX though.

If you’re interested in trying it out, you can get a coupon by “Liking” them on Facebook.

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite way to salvage fruits and veggies that are about to go bad? Do you use caffeine before you train?

17 thoughts on “Save the Tomatoes + Zipfizz Review

  1. Those tomatoes look delicious!!

    And to answer your question.. I always have a red bull before I do a long run. Normally about an hour before. It’s horrible for you I’m sure but it’s such a mental thing… If I don’t have one I think that running is so hard. Such a mental hangup!

  2. That’s a lotta’ miles! I don’t usually use caffiene before I train. I’m not sure if my heart would like it on a regular basis. However, I have used it a bit in the past and felt fine. I’m not sure that the workout was better or worse from it, but I was really needing some green tea to get me awake! :)

  3. Your salad look wonderful. I love roasted tomato too but I never made them before. I didn’t know that take that long to cook though.

    To salvage fruits and veggies, I would make them into smoothies! It’s the best way I can think of. :)

  4. That’s a really good idea with the tomatoes! I’m normally not a huge fan of them, but I love them roasted or sun-dried.

    When I have fruit that goes bad, I usually try to put it in a smoothie and hope that everything else in it will mask any rottenness :D

  5. Pingback: Date Night At Jason’s Deli « Eat, Live, and Blog

Share Your Thoughts

