Year of Fitness and Finances

After it’s been a nearly unacceptable amount of time since the new year started, I’ve finally got my goals thought out. At least it’s still the first week of January, right?

Actually, the word “goals” isn’t quite it. I think of them more like the basic guidelines to the never-ending free response question known as life. These are more things that I want to do to continue to build and better myself as a person. Since it’s fun to have themes, I’m going to dub this year the year of…

………

……..

……

….

..

Physical and Financial Well-being

*BAM* There it is. So clever, I know. The physical well-being aspect should be pretty self-explanatory, and will include physical fitness and emotional wellness (everyone’s crazy can’t be at 100% all the time). Financially, I want to be better off than I am now. I’m not broke and contribute generously to my retirement fund, but I’m not much of a saver outside of that. I’m not going to share the details of my finances because that’s just weird, but you’ll get an unhindered view into my generic, financial goals.

Wrong year, same message. click for source

Guidelines for Living My Best 2012

  1. Remember that I am worth it. I deserve to fuel my body properly, become stronger, be picky with men, treat myself occasionally, and, above all, be happy.
  2. Stay more level-headed through success. While I deserve the things from #1, stay within reason because I must remember how I got there in the first place.
  3. Paying down debt needs to be prioritized. ‘Nuff said. I’m by no means head-over-heels in debt and am not struggling, but what a freakin waste of money to not just pay it off more diligently than I have been.
  4. Waste less money so I can work toward #3 faster. This means:
    • Assess needs vs wants. Do I really need $50 of GU just because it was on sale? NO! I don’t even do long runs enough to use that many. Yes, I’ve done this and have a lot of GU.
  5. Be a better friend/sister/daughter. My family and friends have picked me up through the trials of this past year and have shared in my joys. I want to be this person for the others in my life as well.
  6. Being fit is a lifestyle, not a choice. I always say I’m afraid to get into another relationship for fear of getting fat. This just means I have to find someone who accepts that my fitness time is my “me” time and is non-negotiable (within reason).
  7. Cook more because I enjoy it, and it’s cheaper.
  8. Take the time to truly think about my career path and the steps I need to take this year to get there. I’m 25 and still am not 100% sure what I want to be doing…oy vey.
  9. Be more optimistic. I’m the worry wort realist who usually sees things as they are instead of as they could be. Who knows what will come my way?
  10. Improve my blog! I never thought I would be one to like blogging, but here I am. It’s helped me to keep sane and build a sense of community in ways never imagined. I have big things in store for my blog, many of which you’ll be seeing within the next month or two, so keep your eyes peeled ;)

Let’s hope that this year blows last year out of the water. Oh, and I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to follow my little WordPress blog. Big things are yet to come my friends, and I hope you’re there to experience them with me :)

22 thoughts on “Year of Fitness and Finances

  1. ahhh these are awesome goals Lena!! I am very excited to follow you and keep up with your journey! And worrying never makes anything better, does it? :)

    And also regarding that “man”….I believe that if the guy is pretty open to new-to-him things because he loves you, then he will slowly but surely start to mimic your healthy lifestyle (for the most part)! At least, that’s how it happened with Greg. Although he wasn’t necessarily super UNhealthy, he wasn’t really conscious about health either.

    Now, he’s more conscious of how he eats, tries to exercises more wisely (instead of harder), and admits that he feels better due to these new patterns! My point is, you will find a wonderful person who will love you more than you can imagine <3

  2. I love your goals! I recently thought about all of mine for the year, and I didn’t think at all about finances until I read it here. Whoops. That DEFINITELY is something I want to work on this year, especially because I’ll be needing money big time this year. I’m hoping to concentrate a lot more on needs vs. wants like you mentioned. Even though I’m usually pretty cheap and hate spending money, I know I have been buying more clothes and just “stuff” than necessary and could definitely cut back.

  3. Pingback: Bookworms Anonymous « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

