Rookie Mistake

Hello! I’m not going to lie, I’m a tad bit embarrassed. If any of you stopped by during the four hour time span when I had a very incomplete blog post up, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Note to self: don’t set a publish date for later in the day when you don’t have time to finish a post. Lesson learned and moving on!

I drove to work with the weirdest sunrise I’ve seen in awhile. Excuse the incredibly blurry phone-pic-while-driving shot I had to take. It was the traffic god’s way of letting me know I should be looking at the road.

sunrise

You can’t really tell from the picture, but the clouds were really yellowish and looked like they were taking over the otherwise beautiful blue/pink sunrise.

I had a busy day at work today with it being the end of the month and 3.5 hours of tutoring after, so I’m happy today is my rest day. Yay for rest days!

Speaking of work, check out this goofy little picture that one of my friends drew on the whiteboard at my desk. Okay, it wasn’t for me, but we had to move around our cubes, and I inherited the lion.

rawr

Way better than your typical office decor, no?

Eats

When my sister asked what I wanted for my upcoming birthday, I didn’t know what to ask for that was in a college budget (considerate sister I am). Therefore, I asked for running socks and her boyfriend’s tamarind soup. It’s a Filipino dish that he learned from his mom, and it’s seriously GOOD. I honestly don’t know what a tamarind is, so I just Googled it.

The hard green pulp of a young fruit is considered by many to be too sour and acidic, but is often used as a component of savory dishes, as a pickling agent or as a means of making certain poisonous yams in Ghana safe for human consumption.

The ripened fruit is considered the more palatable, as it becomes sweeter and less sour (acidic) as it matures. It is used in desserts as a jam, blended into juices or sweetened drinks, sorbetsice creams and all manner of snacks. It is also consumed as a natural laxative.

In Western cuisine, it is found in Worcestershire sauce,[8] and HP sauce. (source)

Hmm…that might sound sketchy, but he just uses powdered tamarind base to give the soup a very slightly sour taste.

I’ve never watched him make it, but I know that it has pork, string beans, tomato, onion, and cabbage. It could have gasoline in it for all I care because it’s so yummy. Okay…maybe not gasoline, but you get my drift. I took some for lunch with some white rice 🙂

I’m planning on hitting the sack a bit early tonight, so I’ll catch you all tomorrow!

Question of the Day: What’s the most interesting ingredient that you use in your cooking?

4 thoughts on “Rookie Mistake

Share Your Thoughts

