Holiday Fluff

TGIF!!! I feel like the closer it gets to the end of December, the longer the weeks drag on. Congrats to all of you out there who have just finished up finals! I wish I still had winter break, so cherish your undergrad/grad moments ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve been doing a fairly good job of sticking to my tips for surviving the holidays, but there is one thing I didn’t really consider: sodium. Lots and lots of sodium. It seems like that sneaky sly NaCl has been infused into everything I’ve eaten over the past week, and I’ve been really bad about properly hydrating.

As a result, I’m starting to feel like a puff pastry due to bits of holiday fluff accumulating in my waistline. It hasn’t been very noticable (thank goodness), but I sure do feel it in my jeans ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

click image for source

I haven’t been as strict with my workout schedule this week because both of my holiday parties fell on weekdays immediately after work, but I’m ready to get back on the bandwagon this weekend. In the meantime, I thought I would share some remedies for bloating that I stumbled upon, courtesy ofย Redbook.

ย 
Redbook’s Remedies for Bloating
  1. Drink lots of water! This is my own personal tip because the extra fluid helps me flush extra junk out of my system.
  2. Pick foods high in potassium, which will help regulate fluid balance within your body. Bananas are awesome.
  3. Decrease or eliminate carbs from your late meals. I will probably decrease because I love me some carbs.
  4. Don’t drink soda. I don’t really like soda, so I’ve got this one in the bag.
  5. Limit your intake of sugar substitutes. Some people have a harder time digesting these, so real sugar will be better off. I try to use something natural, like Truvia or honey, when possible.
  6. Be ready for a visit from Mother Nature if you’re prone to PMS bloating. Extra calcium and magnesium should help because both help relieve PMS symptoms.
  7. Apply pressure to your abdominal area and massage in a circular motion. I totally made fun of one of my friends for doing this, but I guess she was on to something!
  8. Increase your intake of probiotics to help regulate your digestive system and keep things moving.
  9. Exercise. I can’t be the only one who gets random urges to use the bathroom during a long run…TMI?

And there you have it. I’ll be putting some of these to use asap. I’m thinking a lot of my bloating issues this week has to do with #9…damn those skipped workouts! They’re trying to hold me accountable by making my normal clothes too tight so that I will be forced into workout gear. Jerks.

I’m so behind on blog-reading, so guess what my downtime is going to consist of this weekend! Oh, and lots of freakin running. Look’s like I’m going to push my “easy” week yet again because it’s supposed to be in the 50s this entire weekend. Say what?! Hell yes!

Colorado weather can totally suck at times, but it’s constantly changing, so you never know when you’ll get an entire weekend of amazing fall weather the week before Christmas ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll be spending the less sunny moments of the weekend finishing up Christmas shopping. I hope that your Friday is great!

Question of the Day: What do you need to accomplish this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Holiday Fluff

  1. Hi Lena! Live enzymes are also great for regulating you digestion, that is raw foods or supplements that contain them ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can tell you ever since I started nutritional cleansing and replenishing and meal replacement shakes (with live enzymes), my bloating went away completely and my digestion totally balanced. And I had tried many things, even chugging on Milk of Magnesia to not avail.

Share Your Thoughts

