Code Blue at the Gym

Hey, everyone! I hope that your weekend is off to a great start.

I was up bright and early this morning because I had to take Mochi to the vet. I’m not sure which he hates more: the vet or the groomer? Either way, he was not happy when his joyous car ride ended up at the vet’s office. His ears were really gross, and the groomer wasn’t able to clean it well.

NOOOOO......Let me go home!

The vet said it could possibly be ear mites (wtf?!?!!) or an infection, so they needed to take some samples to look at ($$$) to determine what was going on. Turns out, he doesn’t have ear mites (thank goodness), nor does he have an ear infection. It’s just that his fur is so fine that the hairs in his ears were catching on to everything and holding it all in.

I told you it was no big deal.

Well, now his ears are sparkly clean. There is one downside though: his ear cleaning cost me $100/a Benjamin/a bill/100 smackeroos. On top of that, they said it’s about time he gets his first teeth cleaning, which will cost me an additional $400. Oh. My. Savings. I’m lucky I haven’t had to get his teeth cleaned sooner because his breed (mostly Maltese) is known for having terrible teeth, so they’re surprised he’s almost 4 and his teeth look pretty decent. I’m slightly scared because he’s going to be knocked out while they do it and has to spend the entire day at the vet’s office to recover :(

Moral of the story: designer dogs = designer prices for healthcare. Yikes.

Anywho…Leenae and I had a scary experience at the gym last night. We ran to the gym, hopped on some treadmills, and were getting through our run for the day when all of a sudden, the speaker system comes on (which I’ve never heard used before), and they’re yelling “Attention all personal trainers, Code Blue. Attention all trainers, code blue. Please report immediately to the 2nd floor cardio area.”

Immediately, you see trainers running up the stairs and a crowd gathering near a treadmill on the other side of the cardio area from where we were running. People are running with water, towels, first aid kits, and whatever else they can put their hands on. Then, the intercom comes on again and we hear “Attention guests, if there is a doctor in the house, please report to the front desk”. By this time, we’re really wondering what is going on, but we stay put so that we don’t get in the way. There’s people saying that they think the person had a seizure while they were running, but nobody knows for sure. The paramedics eventually got there and took the person away, but what a scary experience! I hope that whoever it was is okay.

After things settled down, we finished our run and headed down to do some weights.

Blue- Completed in supersets repeated 3 times

I don’t have any food to post because I sucked and didn’t put my memory card into my camera yesterday, and my phone was taking crappier pictures than normal. I did however, eat half of a delicious Nutella + strawberry crepe, salmon w/sauteed spinach & mashed sweet potatoes, and a really tasty bagelwich. Hopefully I’m more on top of it this weekend!

Anywho, I need to get myself together and head out to meet some girls for tea. I’ll catch you tomorrow!

Questions of the Day: If you have a dog, did he/she ever need a teeth cleaning? How was it? Have you ever had a scary experience at the gym?

10 thoughts on “Code Blue at the Gym

  1. What a scary gym experience! I workout at the hospitals gym so if anything like that happens everything would be okay thank goodness! My dog hates the vet she always wants to be in my arms, you dog looks so sweet laying there! The prices are insane, they always want to clean my dogs teeth but I’d rather do it myself!

  2. That workout looks great, I’m definitely saving it for later!

    Yikes on the vet bills! I am a bad puppy parent and when my vet said I should think about getting Meeko’s teeth cleaned, I said I’d think about it even though I immediately thought “No way.” It’s so expensive! I did get a puppy toothbrush that I meant to use every other day… I’ve done it mayyyybe once every couple months. Whoops.

  3. Pingback: Long Run Sundays: Tea Party + The B Word | Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts

