Comfort in a Bite-Sized Ball

Hey everyone! Turns out I made the right choice in flying out early because my original flight (scheduled to leave today) was definitely cancelled from the snowstorm. Instead, I woke up to a nice and lax day.

Jennifer and I woke up so that I could take her to work. On the way, we stopped by Starbucks to get some caffeine and food.

IMG_7980

I totally forgot to take a picture of my breakfast, but I got their chicken sausage and egg white wrap, which was a lot yummier than I was expecting.

After dropping her off at work, I drove back to her place to get some work done and go for a run. Can I just say how nice it is to be able to run in a tank top and shorts at 10am??? In February??? I was nervous to run because I hadn’t stuck to my training plan and didn’t run for 3 days.

Well, being at sea level is a helper, but not as awesome as I was hoping for (I was expecting superhuman running ability…haha jk….kind of…). The run didn’t feel completely easy because my legs were heavy, I was getting hot, and I was breathing harder than I’m used to. Now for the good news: I ran several miles at under a 10 min/mile pace! I’ve done that on a treadmill set at a decline, but never during one of my outdoor runs. No wonder I was breathing in a semi-uncomfortable zone!

My legs are feeling more fresh and loose (sounds kind of dirty), and I’m digging the help of extra oxygen no matter how small the difference. Once I got back to take a shower, I literally had streams of sweat pouring off of my face, which promptly turned into rivers once I took my hair out of a ponytail. Yum…sweat.

IMG_7984

It’s a good thing I can clean up nice. Here’s a picture with my new haircut sans curls and post shower. It’s a good thing I shower frequently…

IMG_7987

I went to pick up Jennifer and her friend for lunch afterwards. We went to a Korean restaurant in Fullerton near her work that was just okay, but it temporarily satisfied my desire for Korean food. I’ll  be meeting up my aunt in Koreatown on Sunday for the good stuff 😉

Anyway, let’s rewind back to my post-airport dinner because it was so yummy.

Will Work for Balls…Potato Balls That Is

Jennifer took me to Porto’s Bakery last night because she said their potato balls would steal my heart.

IMG_20120202_194952

It was founded by a Cuban couple, so the menu has a good selection of Cuban-style sandwiches and baked goods along with more standard bakery/deli fare.

We started with two potato balls for each of us because Jennifer said that I would not be satisfied with just one.

IMG_20120202_192623

She was right.

Oh. My. Yum! To put it simply, they taste like shepherds pie in ball form, but that almost sounds insulting. They’re these deliciously seasoned smashed potatoes stuffed with an amazing meat blend and then fried to a beautiful, golden crisp. I’m in love.

Jennifer got their tuna melt as her main meal, and I went with their steak torta served with a side of fried plantains.

IMG_20120202_193356

It was delicious, too! It came with guac, black beans, and the other typical burger fixins, but was beyond a burger. Although I was in love with the sandwich, I really just wanted to eat a platter of the potato balls. For real, they were that good.

Well, Jennifer is almost off work again, and I’m sipping down another cup of coffee before I pick her up from work. We’ve got to head back to the airport to pick up my friend who’s flying in from Utah. Then we’re off to hit the town either in L.A. or Newport Beach. See you tomorrow!

Question of the Day: Should I put on my headphones during my first half or no? I really want to savor the experience, but I don’t know if listening to spectators is enough. Share your thoughts!

8 thoughts on “Comfort in a Bite-Sized Ball

  1. Only put in one headphone/earbud and leave one free! 🙂 Also really liked your first-time racing tips a couple days back – even back when I ran XC it was so important to run your own race despite the people and excitement around you. Good luck!

  2. Your meals sounds great! those potatoes balls sounds amazing and I love how you can get fried plantains as your side. How awesome. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  3. They were talking about the Denver snow storm on the radio this morning on my way to work and I thought of you! Good thing you made it out in time 🙂 Those potato balls sound and look delicious!

    I pretty much always listen to music during runs by myself, but never did for any big races. I didn’t really miss it. Well, I might have a little during my marathon, but I was also running by myself (as in, I couldn’t see a single other person) for at least an hour or two. That time, I kind of wished I had some music. With all the other people around, there was a lot to see and listen to, so I never really thought I needed them, but I did see a lot of people with them!

  4. I never train with music, but when I run races, I ALWAYS make sure to have my iPod blasting! It gives me that extra push and keeps me running at a steady pace. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear about the race!

  5. I have always run with music. You should go with how you have trained, but I would take my ipod for sure. You can always take your earbuds out if you decide you don’t want them. Good luck! Enjoy your first half!

Share Your Thoughts

