Dinner Like a Pauper?

I’m so glad that it’s finally Friday! I don’t know about you guys, but short weeks always feel the LONGEST to me.

Today was especially long because our office is moving locations, so we had to pack up everything for the big corporate movers to take. It’s great because I don’t have to do anything except throw my work junk in a big box. It sucks because they’re too efficient, and I’ll be back to work as usual on Monday morning in the new building…boo. Our office is actually moving just a few blocks, but we’ll be right in the middle of the action of downtown. This will be a great test of my willpower because that means I’m that much closer to yummy eats, but I’m resolving to only eat out for lunch once during the work week (an occasional brunch on the weekends doesn’t count).

Anyway, tonight is chill time for me because I’ve been having some minor cold symptoms for a few days now, and I’m just plain exhausted. I only ran 1 mile yesterday (instead of my 6 mile tempo run) because my calves were still SO tight from all the exercise earlier this week. Let me tell you, it was the HARDEST RUN of my half marathon training so far LOL, and it was only 1 (one) mile. Despite the pain, I’m so glad that I did it because my legs feel almost as good as new today. Rather than run again today and risk getting extreme calf pain again, I’m taking it easy and picking up the mileage over the weekend.


Sizing of Meals

I frequently hear the advice to eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper when it comes to portioning out meals and calories for the day, but I hate that piece of advice. Hate it.

Don’t get me wrong. I have learned to absolutely LOVE breakfast (I never ate breakfast until I was about 23 because I would have rather slept), but I love dinner even more. I’m sure I would reach my goal weight faster if I followed the saying, but I would be one hell of a bitchy person.

Exhibit A- Dinner last night at Quynh’s house.

IMG_4474

She cooked up a fajita feast, so I dumped all of the ingredients together into a giant mixing bowl on top of a bed of spinach and called it a Mexican feast. I couldn’t eat anything this awesome for breakfast! Well, I could, but I might be stuck up in the bathroom all day if you know what I mean… I just can’t eat all that heavy in the early mornings.

Exhibit B- Breakfast this morning

IMG_4460

While I think I’ve gotten better at making my overnight oats look less like throw-up, this delicious dish is not a breakfast meant for a king…he probably would pawn it off on the paupers.

Exhibit C- Vietnamese feasting

IMG_4486

For my one lunch out this week, I went to Pho-natic off of Grant and Colfax to get a steamy bowl of pho. Meat, carbs, and savory broth = a very happy Lena. Even though their pho here isn’t the best in the city, it’s the best in the downtown area, and much more satisfying for lunch than a sandwich IMO.

IMG_4488

For dinner, my roomie and I made little Vietnamese noodle bowls with food sent by her amazing cook of a mom. A layer of vermicelli noodles, grilled beef and shrimp, veggies, and a sweet fish sauce. Now this was fit for a king and healthy to boot.

I think I’ll stick to my personal food portion standards—as in, I don’t have any.


Before I forget, I would like to thank Gina @Simply Life for hosting a Mavea water filter giveaway! I just received my prize in the mail, and it’s a snazzy little water filter. Definitely easier on the eyes than my Brita 😉

IMG_4470

Blogger Mochi says it’s time to be lazy and watch t.v., so we’re out! (Yeah he looks really fat right now…time for a major grooming and a grandma detox.)

IMG_4475

Question of the Day: How do you prefer to eat your meals in terms of meal size?

21 thoughts on “Dinner Like a Pauper?

  1. How did I not realize you were from Denver? Duhhhh… Lol. I hate that rule too. I love to eat huge dinnners! I just want to relax when I get home after a long day and the gym!!! snack snack snack!

  2. I like a yogurt or wheat eggo for bfast, leftover dinners for lunch, then a large dinner that doesn’t look as tasty as the food you posted!! Ya a large bfast usually means a trip to the bathroom later which I just don’t prefer to do.

    Love your post Lena!!

  3. I’m like you. My breakfasts are usually small, my lunches a bit bigger, and my dinners are huge! I just don’t have the appetite for large breakfasts and I usually don’t eat a ton for lunch because I hate feeling stuffed at work. I know it’s backwards and I should probably eat bigger breakfasts, but it works for me!

  4. I’m with you – I can see the logic to that saying. If I followed it, I probably would feel a little healthier and lighter going to bed. A lot of times I overdo it at dinner and go to bed feeling stuffed, which is what I’m trying to work on not doing. I’ve been better lately, but I know I’ll never be able to have my dinner smaller than any other meal. I just wouldn’t feel satisfied at the end of the day, and I’d probably go back and snack and end up eating even more 🙂

  5. My meal are like yours too. I hate having a heavy breakfast and so a smoothies, toast with banana and almond butter, or oatmeal is my prefer choices. Dinner is the heaviest for me because I tend to eat more meat then.

    Love all of your eats Lena! I miss vietnamese food so much. I think I need to learn to cook more vietnamese food like that vietnamese bowl that your friend cooked. It looks delicious.

  6. I love making my meals with loads of veggies…makes me think I am eating more than I am 🙂 Although sometimes all that fiber can really make my stomach upset.

  7. yum! i think as long as you’re eating healthy at dinner, it shouldn’t be pauper sized! I usually eat a small/medium breakfast, medium lunch, mediumish dinner with snacks inbetween each! I can’t wait 3-4 hours inbetween meals at all!

Share Your Thoughts