My Stupid Human Talent

Everyone has some sort of idiosyncrasy or talent, and I think that mine allows me to save money and be efficient with eating. I know that a lot of people love food and leftovers, but I don’t think anyone likes eating leftovers as much as I do. Here’s the thing: I can literally eat the same meal for weeks on end, sometimes even multiple times a day.

om nom nom

Spaghetti squash “spaghetti” is my most recent addiction. I discovered the glory of spaghetti squash through the Peanut Butter Fingers blog. I always get so full from noodles when I really just want to keep eating the yummy sauce, so this was perfect! I’ve made this twice in the last 3 weeks and have made enough to last for at least 6 meals each time. I could easily eat this for another month, no problemo. This applies to pretty much anything that I find tasty, and it kind of grosses/weirds out a lot of my friends because most of them can only eat something again maybe once before they throw it out. I like to think that I’m saving money and lots of work from cooking 🙂

I’ve gotten a lot of questions about what goes into my super loaded sauce, so here you go!

Yummy Pasta Sauce– serves 5-8
1 jar of jarred sauce (my fave is Napa Valley Bistro Tomato Basil)
1 package extra lean ground turkey
1 medium yellow onion, diced
1 medium zucchini, diced
2 bell peppers, diced (I use 1 yellow and 1 orange for color)
1 package baby bella mushrooms, diced (add as desired)
3 cloves of fresh, minced garlic
large handful of fresh spinach
several fresh basil leaves, coarsely chopped or torn
salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste

1. With a drizzle of olive oil, cook garlic and onion in a large pan until aromatic. Add zucchini and mushrooms and let cook. Season with salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. (Sometimes I get lazy and just cook this all in the pot I will finish cooking in.)
2. In a separate pan, brown the ground turkey and set aside.
3.  Add the bell peppers to the veggie mix.
4. After all of the veggies have softened up, transfer the veggies and turkey to a large pot and add the sauce.
5. Once it starts to lightly bubble, add the spinach and turn down the heat to simmer.
6. Add the basil shortly before serving on top of your favorite pasta or spaghetti squash, and enjoy!

Working it Out

I started off by jogging over to the gym to warm up. Because I was sore from upping my squat and lunge weights during BodyPump on Monday, I decided to do an upper body workout instead of my usual full body. I finished it off with a slow-paced 2 mile run on the treadmill before running back home to stretch.

My upper body workout consisted of:
Superset 1: bicep curls and tricep dips (3×12)
Superset 2: chest press and bent over rows (3×12)
Mac raises (3×12 per side)
Superset 3: ball crunches (3×12) and *Bosu ball move (3×12 per side)
*I have no idea what this move is called. You flip the Bosu ball flat side up and get into push-up/plank position. Then you alternate bending each leg in the direction of the opposite arm while maintaining the plank position.

It’s getting late, and I’m tired from trying to figure out how to set up this blog. Until next time…

3 thoughts on “My Stupid Human Talent

  1. Pingback: I Scream for Ice Cream « Fit on the Rocks

  2. Pingback: The Calm Before the Storm « Fit on the Rocks

  3. Pingback: Halloween Rest Day « Fit on the Rocks

Share Your Thoughts